
2024 Umpire Classroom Quiz 1-Rules Changes

https://youtu.be/_v26kjdT1VE?si=_96eIjioL7JnGFvx

1. Players from a team are wearing information about defensive shifts/offensive plays/and other game 
instructions on their belt. Is this legal?  Answer- NO

2. The pitcher is wearing a wristband on the non-throwing arm with defensive/pitch information attached. 
The wristband is a single solid color, not distracting, and has a white card listing the pitch choices Is this 
legal? Answer- NO. White card list needs to be cover by a flap or be a color other than white or gray.

3. Team A's catcher is struggling to understand signs from the dugout. He requests time and yells into the 
dugout, "Guys, you can't both keep sending signals!" You realize that both the head coach and 
assistant coach are using electronic devices to send signals to the catcher. Answer- This is illegal. 
Only one coach can have access to the device. The head coach should be warned that another violation 
will result in his ejection. 

4. Team A uses a one-way electronic communication device to communicate from the third-base coach's 
box to the batter. Is this legal? Answer- NO. One-way communication is only from coach to 
catcher.

5. Team A uses a one-way electronic communication device to communicate from the dugout to the 
pitcher. The plate umpire notices this and warns the head coach that this is illegal. Later in the game, 
the Team A pitching coach is seen in the dugout using the electronic communication device to 
communicate with the pitcher. Who is ejected? Answer- Head Coach and Pitching Coach are 
ejected.

6. Both teams are using a one-way electronic communication device to communicate from the dugout to 
the catcher for the purpose of calling pitches. Team A's communication device stops working in the 
second inning. Is Team B still allowed to continue using its electronic communication device? Answer- 
YES.

7. Team A's catcher is wearing a one-way electronic communication device on the wrist. In the sixth 
inning, the catcher notices it is not working. The catcher requests time and goes to the bench to quickly 
exchange the faulty wristband for that works correctly. Is this a defensive conference? Answer- NO

8. Team A's catcher is wearing a one-way electronic communication device on the wrist. In the sixth 
inning, the catcher notices it is not working. Team A's coach requests time and it is granted. He then 
goes to the catcher near home-plate to fix the device. Is this a defensive conference? Answer- YES

9. With no outs and R1 on first base, B2 hits a hard ground ball to F6 playing directly behind second base. 
F6 fields the ball, steps on second base and throws to first in an attempt to double up B2. R1 is running 
standing up in a straight line to second base and is hit by F6's throw. R1 is about halfway to second 
base and did not intentionally interfere with the throw. Answer- This is not a violation of the force-play 
slide rule. R1 cannot be expected to slide at that point in the base path. The play stands. It would also 
be rare that a player let thrown ball hit himself. Most players will move or turn.

10.The umpire-in-chief may forfeit the game for infractions by spectators. Answer- False

https://youtu.be/_v26kjdT1VE?si=_96eIjioL7JnGFvx


2024 Umpire Classroom Quiz 2- Points of Emphasis
https://youtu.be/H5DE_dnf5eA?si=UFgsoG0TTc8h-Aj6

1. R2 and no outs. B1 hits a single to right field. R2 rounds third base and comes home with the throw from 
the outfield being cut off by the first baseman. F2 was blocking the plate waiting for the ball. R2 
intentionally lowers his shoulder to get through the catcher who is obstructing his path. Answer- This is 
obstruction but the obstruction is superseded by the malicious contact. The result is the run does not 
score, R2 is out and ejected.

2. B3 swears at F2. The umpire wants B3 removed from the game, but does not feel that he needs to be 
suspended for an ejection. Can he restrict B3 to the dugout for the remainder of the game? Answer- NO

3. The defense gives up 8 runs in the top of the first. After the inning, the coach gathers his team together in 
front of the dugout and tells his players to "get [their] shit together." Answer- This is not allowed.

4. F1 after striking out the side yells out a profanity at the opposing team. The plate umpire ejects F1. Is F1 
allowed to remain in the dugout? Answer- Yes

5. A freshman in the dugout of the hitting team is bench jockeying and making unsportsmanlike remarks. U1 
sees the player making the remarks and ejects him. The freshman remains in the dugout and keeps 
making comments. What should the umpires do? Answer- Restrict his head coach to the dugout. If his 
head coach is already in the dugout, eject the head coach.

6. The home team has installed a pitch clock for use during their games. They reference that the NFHS rules 
book establishes a 20-second time limit between pitches. Are they allowed to operate it during the game? 
Answer- No.

https://youtu.be/H5DE_dnf5eA?si=UFgsoG0TTc8h-Aj6


2024 Umpire Classroom Quiz 3- 2024 MLB Rules Changes for NFHS and Youth Baseball Umpires
https://youtu.be/EyEebi7AJAg?si=qSDPZIXLT92WsqQZ

1. The pitcher, with no runners on base, must pitch within ___ seconds. Answer- 20 seconds.

2. The pitcher, with runners on base, must pitch or make or attempt a play, including a legal feint, 
within ___ seconds. Answer- 20 seconds

3. NFHS Rules: With a runner on 1st base, F2 requests time and goes to the mound to speak with 
the pitcher. Is this a mound visit? Answer- No

4. The coach of the defensive team moves to the pitcher's mound in the eight inning after having 
used three charged defensive conferences in the first seven innings. Does he have to pull his 
pitcher? Answer- No

5. The coach of the defensive team has used one charged conference in the first seven innings.
How many charged conferences does he have in the eighth inning where he will not have to pull 
his pitcher? Answer- 1

6. With R3 on third base, and 1 out, B2 hits a fair ground ball to F3 who fields the ball beyond first 
base. He throws to F2, attempting to retire R3. The throw hits B2, who is running in fair territory 
and does not intentionally interfere with the ball. Answer- This is legal.

7. With R3 on third base, B2 bunts a ball that is fielded by F2.  F2 attempts to throw to F3, but 
because B2 is outside of the runner's lane and in the way, F2 tries to throw over B2's head.  The 
throw goes 10 feet over the head of F3. Answer- This is interference, B2 is out and R3 is 
returned to third base.

8. B1 bunts a ball in front of home plate. F2 fields the ball and throws it to F3. The thrown ball hits 
B1 who is running in fair territory 30 ft. from home plate. Answer- This is legal.

9. B1 bunts a ball in front of home plate. F2 fields the ball and throws it to F3. The thrown ball hits 
B1 who is within 20 feet of first base with one foot in fair territory and one foot in foul territory. 
Answer- This is runner's lane interference.

10. At the pregame conference, the coach of the home team is explaining the ground rules. He 
says that since they play on a turf field that has a grass infield, the runner's lane will be widened 
to include the "dirt" between the foul line and infield grass. Answer- This is illegal.

https://youtu.be/EyEebi7AJAg?si=qSDPZIXLT92WsqQZ

